Football Sports 

FIFA World Cup: The Stage for Legends

FIFA World cup is an international association football contested by the members of  Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

The championship is held in every four years since the inaugural tournament from 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 because of World War ll.

The most honored trophy in world football has been won by 8 national teams. In which Brazil managed to get 5 titles, Germany and Italy got 4 titles, Argentina and debutant winners Uruguay got 2 titles each, and England, France, and Spain got 1 title each.

The current Champion is Germany, which won its 4th title in 2014 world cup by beating Argentina in World Cup thriller.


World Cup Trophy

From 1930 to 1970, the Jules Rimet Trophy was awarded to the World Cup winning team. The cup was originally known as World Cup but in 1964 it was renamed after the FIFA President Jules Rimet.

In 1970, Brazil permanently entitled them as World Cup favorites of all time as their World Cup trophy was stolen by thieves and melted down later.

After 1970, new World Cup trophy is introduced. The new trophy is 36 cm high, made of solid 18 carats (75%) gold and weighs 6.175 Kg.

In 2007, FIFA announced that all the winners from 1930-1974 the winners will be awarded by the ‘winners medal’.

Some of the following moments of World Cup describe this game as the most loved game on the planet.

Diego Maradona’s ‘goal of the century’ vs England, 1986

Goal Of The Century

Diego Maradona picks the ball in his own half and takes the ball forward by beating each and every defender in his way and slotting it against the struggling Peter Shilton.

It was considered the best goal of the century on the world cup stage.

Englishman Gordon Banks ‘save of the century’

Save Of The Century

In the group stages of 1970 World Cup, England face Brazil where the English goalkeeper Gordon Banks made the ‘save of the century’  against the downward header from Pele.

Banks dive through his right-hand side to clear the ball away from the back of the net. Banks provide a miraculous save by diving against the Brazilian legend Pele.

Diego Maradona’s ‘Hand of God’, 1986

Hand Of God

In the classical encounter between Argentina and England, the whole world witnesses the ‘Hand of God’ from Argentinian Legend Diego Maradona.

Maradona reaches the ball first and passes out Peter Shilton with his hand rather than his head. Despite English, players appeal the goal stand out as Referee had not seen the incident.

Kuwait walk off after the goal, 1982

Kuwaitis Walk-off

In one of the most bizarre incident, France was leading 3-1 against Kuwait and when France scores another goal Kuwaitis defender heard the whistle but he gives the goal to France.

This gesture of Referee made Kuwaiti FA President, Price Fahid, told his players to protest against the foolish act of Referee.

The ‘Cruyff Turn’, 1974

Cruyff Turn

The match between Sweden and Holland in 1974 world cup witness one of the most famous skills made in football ever.

Dutch Master Johan Cruyff had a very little option against the Swedish defender which in turn make him do the trickery as he pushes the ball backward between his legs and left the tightly marked defender in a wake.

Brazil vs Sweden, 1958

16 Year Old Pele

In 1958, Pele becomes the youngest player to participate in World Cup. Brazil beat Sweden by 5-2 after the heroics of Pele.

He was apparently never supposed to come onto the pitch but somehow players manage to convince the coach and the rest becomes the historic win for Brazilians.

Teammate betrayal, 2006

Wayne Rooney Red Card

He was sent off due to ‘accidentally’ stamping on a Portuguese player’s private area. The act itself was surprising, but Ronaldo’s intervention that secured the red card sparked outcry amongst England fans and even caused Rooney to shove him in anger.

To make matters worse, Cristiano was caught winking as Rooney sauntered off the pitch.

Both Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney were teammates at Manchester United at that time.

Zidane headbutt his way off the pitch

Zidane’s Headbutt

Zinedine Zidane, one of the world’s most recognized veteran footballers, was sent off during the France vs. Italy world cup final, due to headbutting rival player Materazzi.

Words were exchanged as they walked up the pitch, words that Zidane doesn’t appear to agree with Materazzi.

In the end, France lost in the penalty shootout.

Suarez bite in 2014 World Cup

Suarez Bite

In 2014, Luis Suarez bites Giorgio Chiellini in Uruguay vs Italy. Luis Suarez launches a late tackle on Andre Pirlo in the last group game of FIFA World Cup 2014.

Suárez, assuming the role of the wronged man, held his head, stared at Pirlo, looking hurt.

After 40′ score was 0-0 and Chiellini adds the list of players Suarez bites. He earlier bites Otman Bakkal and Branislav Ivanovic during club period.


Share your thoughts about ongoing World Cup 2018 and tell us your favorite team at the moment.

If you like this article, please subscribe by Clicking Here.

Related posts

2 Thoughts to “FIFA World Cup: The Stage for Legends”

  1. Really precisely detailed hot happenings during previous world cup matches.nice work…

  2. Thanks Man I really appreciate it.

Leave a Comment